Newsletter Signup
  • Loading Facebook

Orange Students' Creativity Recognized in PTA Reflections Program

January 28, 2011

Congratulations to all of the Orange City School District students who participated in the PTA Reflections Program.   They were recognized at an awards ceremony on January 13th when all entries were displayed. Using the theme, “Together we can”, students in preschool through grade 12 created and submitted works of art in six areas, including dance choreography, film production, literature, musical composition, photography, and the visual arts.

Caden Vincent finished in first place among preK-2nd grade students in Film/Video Production. In grades 9-12, an Honorable Mention was given to Kara Moss and Samantha Katz.

Michael Faeges (preK-2), Morgan Alston (3-5), Anjali Kashyap (6-8) and Rebecca Tenney (9-12) won first place in Literature. In the same category, Jared Kochis (3-5), Ryan Kochis (6-8) and Tamara Sabbagh (9-12) finished in second place. Third place finishers were Alexa Paull (3-5), Demi Zhang (6-8) and Hallie Israel (9-12). Receiving Honorable Mentions in Literature were Carly Siegel (3-5), Cherissa Lindsay (3-5), Danny Kraig (6-8) and Hannah J. De Wolf (6-8).

Emma Robbins (preK-2), Morgan Alston (3-5), Charles Stewart Bates (6-8) and Tamara Sabbagh (9-12) won first place in the Music category. Demi Zhang (6-8) and Sabbagh (9-12) received second place recognition.

In Photography, Demi Zhang took home first, second and third place among 6-8 graders for her entries. Morgan Sosic received first and second place among 9-12 graders. Additional first place winners were Alex Ginsberg (preK-2) and Elliott Keskemety (3-5). Other second place finishers were Zachary Silverstein (preK-2) and Ethan Heiss (3-5). Receiving third place honors were Tira Heiss (preK-2) and Ethan Heiss (3-5). Honorable Mentions in photography representing grades 3–5 were Joe Daly, Ryan Vincent and Santiago Bustamante.

The first place winners in the Visual Arts were Elizabeth Richards (preK-2), Samantha Richards (3-5) and Demi Zhang (6-8). Second place was awarded to Taylor Silverstein (preK-2), Alexa Paull (3-5) and Sophie Bruno (6-8). Steve Daly (preK-2), Caila Schold (3-5) and Reagan Anthony (6-8) were awarded third place. Earning Honorable Mentions among preK-2nd graders were Benjamin Scheps, Kaile Takaoka, Tira Heiss, Emma Robbins, Jacob Silverstein, Jaden Polster, Kessel Richards, Matthew Paull, Orly Wolf, Carson Siegel, Hailey Kochis and Krish Mehra. In 3-5 grades, Honorable mentions went to Hamza Kahn, Mike Meskill, Abby Goldschmidt, Joe Daly, Marissa Munsell, Mia Shein, Cherissa Lindsay and Jessica Lebowitz. In grades 9-12, Tamara Sabbagh also received an Honorable Mention.

Entries were judged anonymously by independent experts from the community. This year’s judges included Ivan Schwarz – Executive Director, Cleveland Film Commission; Cynthia Bomeli – elementary school teacher and a 1973 graduate of Orange High School; Kathleen Mylecraine – Director of Flautrageous at the Cleveland Music School Settlement; Kim Ponsky-Shiloh – An award winning photographer and Advanced Photography teacher; Amy Craft – Executive Director, The Arthouse, Inc.; and Heather Koniz – Dance Department Coordinator at Solon Center for the Arts and professor at Case Western Reserve University.

The first place entries in all ages and categories will be entered the State Reflections Competition this spring. The PTA Reflections Program provides opportunities for students to express themselves artistically and to receive positive recognition for their artistic efforts.

To view a slide show of the event, click on the photo below:

Orange Schools
32000 Chagrin Blvd
Pepper Pike, OH 44124
PHONE: 216.831.8600
FAX: 216.831.8029