To Learn. To Lead. To Make a Difference.

Orange Schools News Article

OHS Model UN Team Takes 1st Place 9 Years in a Row; BMS Team Also Wins 1st Place Honors!


Congratulations to Orange's Model United Nations Team which finished first for the season for the NINTH year in a row by taking top honors in the Cleveland Council on World Affairs' Spring Conference this week!

The OHS team, under the direction of teachers David Chordas and Gary Mangan, won three "silver bowls" this year finishing in first place at the fall, winter and spring conferences!

Among the honors: Gavel Winners (pictured, left) Ethan Hsi, Brandon Gotlieb, Neil Agarwal, and Peyton Ovsek; Superior Delegation Awards to Neil Agarwal, Tom Middleton, Brandon Gotlieb, Alex Moore, and Mariam Tsutskiridze; Excellent Delegation Awards went to Anjali Kashyap and Meeghan Barrett; Honorable Mentions went to Victoria Popritkin, Ian Resnick, Josh Geller, Emma Dawson-Glass, Sadie Fahsbender, Tyler Nelson, Truman Lester, Aadit Patel, Chris Jin, Maddy Carek, Isabel Sands, Mia Shein, and Abby Goldschmidt; and Best Position Paper Awards went to Karen Wu and Emma Rico.

The entire team will be honored downtown in June.

* * * * * 
Meanwhile, the Brady Middle School Model UN Team, in only its first season out, also had an outstanding showing!
The BMS Model UN Team placed first in the Junior Conference at John Carroll University earlier this year. BMS sent 12 eighth-graders to JCU to participate in the event with nine students earning individual honors along with the overall first place win.

Individual award winners include Jackson Leb who won the esteemed Gavel Award; Nick Russo, Zayne El-Kaissi, Katie Brateanu, Eleanor McCreary, Jackson Leb and Jared Kochis who won Super Delegation Awards; and Raghav Bhatia and Adam Rosenthal who won Honorable Mention Awards. Charter team members also included Matthew Sigel, Katherine Jin, Rachel Pomeranets and Zoey Yelsky.

Initiated and directed by two OHS seniors from the high school team, Paige Resnick and Neil Agarwal, the BMS team was supervised by BMS teacher Mrs. Sam Schaedler. The OHS students, who are President and Vice President of the high school club respectively, met weekly with the BMS students since September to tutor them in Model UN procedures. Resnick, Agarwal, and OHS seniors Brandon Gotlieb and Tom Middleton served as chairs for the Junior Conference as well.

Congratulations to ALL of our Model UN students!

Print This Article
© 2018. Orange Schools - All Rights Reserved.