To Learn. To Lead. To Make a Difference.

Orange Schools News Article

Board Selects 2017 Officers, Approves Appointments at Organizational Meeting


2017 Orange Board of Education: Mrs. Dagmar Fellowes, Mrs. Melanie Weltman (President), Mr. Jeff Leikin (Vice President), Mrs. Jennifer Cohen, and Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish.

At its January 9, 2017 organizational meeting, the Orange Schools Board of Education approved the appointment of Mrs. Melanie Weltman and Mr. Jeff Leikin as its President and Vice President, respectively.

Mrs. Weltman joined the Board in 2013. She has resided in the Orange School District for almost 38 
years including the past 13 years with her husband Mr. Scott Weltman and their three children - two that attend Orange Schools and one that graduated from Orange High School. She is also an Orange
High School graduate.

Mr. Jeff Leikin joined the Board in 2014. He has lived in Orange Community for more than 25 years and is a 1977 graduate of Orange High School. He and his wife, Mrs. Tracey Leikin, have three children in the Orange Schools.

Other organizational meeting news:

The Board also approved appointments to the 2017 District committees.
  • Academic Committee - Mrs. Weltman and Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish
  • Audit and Finance Committee - Mrs. Dagmar Fellowes and Mrs. Jennifer Cohen
  • Buildings and Grounds Committee - Mrs. Fellowes and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
  • Communications Committee - Mr. Leikin and Mrs. Cohen
  • Policy Committee - Mr. Leikin and Mrs. Cohen
Approval was given to the regular meeting schedule for the calendar year 2017. The meeting schedule is posted on the District website calendar and in the right column of the Board of Education webpage.
Appointments to the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) were approved. Mr. Leikin will serve as a delegate at the OSBA annual conference with Mrs. Cohen as an alternate. Mrs. Wilson-Fish will serve as a legislative liaison to OSBA while Mrs. Fellowes serves as the student achievement liaison.

Board Liaisons were chosen for various school-related organizations and groups.
  • Curriculum Advisory Council - Mrs. Weltman and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
  • Orange Community Education and Recreation - Mrs. Cohen and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
  • Orange Schools Foundation - Mrs. Cohen and Mrs. Fellowes
  • Orange Boosters - Mr. Leikin
  • Orange Patronaires - Mrs. Fellowes
  • Orange Elementary/Middle School PTA - Mr. Leikin
  • OHS PTA - Mrs. Weltman
  • Orange Alumni Association - Mrs. Weltman and Mr. Leikin
The Board of Education also re-adopted existing bylaws and policies.

Print This Article
© 2021. Orange Schools - All Rights Reserved.