To Learn. To Lead. To Make a Difference.

Orange Schools News Article

Board Selects 2016 Officers, Approves Appointments at Organizational Meeting


Orange Schools Board of Education: (from left)
Mrs. Dagmar Fellowes, Mrs. Melanie Weltman, Mr. Jeff Leikin, Mrs. Jennifer Cohen, and Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish

(Pepper Pike, OH) – January 12, 2016 - At its January 11, 2016 organizational meeting, the Orange Schools Board of Education approved the appointment of Mr. Jeff Leikin and Mrs. Melanie Weltman as its President and Vice President, respectively.

Mr. Jeff Leikin joined the Board in 2014. He has lived in Orange Community for more than 25 years and is a 1977 graduate of Orange High School. He and his wife, Mrs. Tracey Leikin, have three children in the Orange Schools.

Mrs. Weltman joined the Board in 2013. She has resided in the Orange School District for almost 37 years including the past 12 years with her husband Mr. Scott Weltman and their three children - two that attend Orange Schools and one that graduated from Orange High School. She is also an Orange
High School graduate.

Other organizational meeting news:

Mrs. Weltman, who was recently re-elected, and Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish, who was recently elected, took their oaths of office as Orange School Board members.

The Board also approved appointments to the 2016 District committees. Mr. Jeff Leikin and Mrs. Jennifer Cohen will serve on the Athletics Committee. Mrs. Cohen and Mrs. Wilson-Fish were appointed to the Building and Grounds Committee. Mrs. Weltman and Mr. Leikin will serve on the Communications Committee. Mrs. Wilson-Fish and Mrs. Dagmar Fellowes were appointed to the Policy Committee. Mrs. Weltman and Mrs. Fellowes were appointed to the Audit and Finance Committee.

Approval was given to the regular meeting schedule for calendar year 2016. The meeting schedule is posted on the District website calendar and in the right column of the Board of Education webpage.

Appointments to the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) were approved. Mrs. Wilson-Fish will serve as a delegate at the OSBA annual conference with Mr. Leikin as an alternate. Mrs. Cohen will serve as a legislative liaison to OSBA while Mrs. Fellowes serves as the student achievement liaison.

Board Liaisons were chosen for various school related organizations and groups:
  • Curriculum Advisory Council: Mrs. Wilson-Fish and Mrs. Weltman
  • OCER: Mr. Leikin and Mrs. Cohen
  • Orange Foundation: Mrs. Fellowes and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
  • Orange Boosters: Mr. Leikin
  • Orange Patronaires: Mrs. Fellowes
  • Elementary/Middle PTA: Mrs. Wilson-Fish
  • OHS PTA: Mrs. Cohen
  • Alumni Association: Mrs. Weltman and Mr. Leikin
The Board of Education also re-adopted existing bylaws and policies.

Print This Article
© 2021. Orange Schools - All Rights Reserved.