To Learn. To Lead. To Make a Difference.

Orange Schools News Article

Board Approves Appointments at Its 2020 Organizational Meeting

2020 Board group photo

At its January 13, 2020 organizational meeting, the Orange Schools Board of Education approved the appointment of Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish and Dr. Rebecca Boyle as its 2020 President and Vice President, respectively.

Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish and her husband have resided in Moreland Hills for more than 18 years. Her daughter is a 2013 graduate of Orange High School. She began her tenure on the Orange Schools Board of Education in January 2016, served as Vice President in 2018, and President in 2019. She has 36 years of experience in education, which includes 17 years serving the gifted students at Orange Schools. She currently serves as a gifted education consultant in several local area schools and the ESC of Northeast Ohio. She has earned multiple college degrees including a Masters of Arts in School Counseling from Cleveland State University with an Endorsement in Gifted Education.

Dr. Boyle and her husband have resided in Orange Village for 14 years. They currently have a son attending Orange High School and a daughter who is an OHS graduate. She began her tenure on the Orange Schools Board of Education in January 2018. She has served as a volunteer in the classroom and with the Orange Boosters. A lifelong educator, she has taught special education, worked as a school counselor, and served as an adjunct professor. She currently serves as Director of Special Education at Albert Einstein Academy. She earned multiple college degrees including a Ph.D. in Counseling and Marriage and Family Therapy from the University of Akron.
Mrs. Wilson-Fish and Mrs. Melanie Weltman, who were re-elected in November 2019, took their Oaths of Office.

Other organizational meeting news:
The Board also approved appointments to various committees:
  • Board Committees: 
    • Audit and Finance Committee - Mrs. Melanie Weltman and Mr. Jeff Leikin
    • Policy Committee – Mrs. Deborah Kamat and Mr. Jeff Leikin

  •  Superintendent Liaisons:
    • Academic Committee - Dr. Rebecca Boyle and Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish
    • Buildings and Grounds Committee - Dr. Rebecca Boyle and Mrs. Melanie Weltman
    • Communications Committee -  Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish and Mrs. Deborah Kamat

Approval was given to the regular meeting schedule for the 2020 calendar year. The meeting schedule is posted on the District website calendar and in the right column of the Board of Education webpage.

All 2020 Regular Board of Education meetings will begin at 6 p.m.

Appointments to the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) were also approved. Mr. Leikin will serve as a delegate at the OSBA annual conference with Dr. Boyle as an alternate. Mrs. Kamat will serve as a legislative liaison to OSBA while Mrs. Weltman will serve as the student achievement liaison.

Board Liaisons were chosen for various school-related organizations and groups:
Curriculum Advisory Council - Dr. Boyle and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
Orange Community Education and Recreation – Mr. Leikin and Mrs. Kamat 
Orange Schools Foundation – Mrs. Kamat and Mrs. Weltman
Orange Boosters – Mrs. Wilson-Fish and Mr. Leikin
Orange Patronaires - Mrs. Wilson-Fish and Mr. Leikin
Orange Elementary/Middle School PTA -  Mrs. Weltman and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
OHS PTA - Dr. Boyle and Mr. Leikin
Orange Alumni Association - Mrs. Weltman and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
Orange School Board Appointment for the Orange Village Tax Incentive Review Council: Mrs. Weltman

The Board of Education also re-adopted existing bylaws and policies.

Print This Article
© 2021. Orange Schools - All Rights Reserved.