Print    Close This Window
Board Approves Appointments at Its 2021 Organizational Meeting
At its January 11, 2021 organizational meeting, the Orange Schools Board of Education approved the appointment of Dr. Rebecca Boyle and Mrs. Melanie Weltman as its 2021 President and Vice President, respectively.

Dr. Boyle and her husband have resided in Orange Village for 15 years. They currently have a son attending Orange High School and a daughter who is an OHS graduate. She began her tenure on the Orange Schools Board of Education in January 2018. She has served as a volunteer in the classroom and with the Orange Boosters. A lifelong educator, she has taught special education, worked as a school counselor, and served as an adjunct professor. She currently serves as Director of Special Education at Albert Einstein Academy. She earned multiple college degrees including a Ph.D. in Counseling and Marriage and Family Therapy from the University of Akron.

Mrs. Weltman joined the Board in 2013. She has resided in the Orange School District for more than 40 years including the past 16 years with her husband Mr. Scott Weltman and their three children who graduated from Orange High School. She is also an Orange High School graduate. She earned her Juris Doctorate from Case Western Reserve University’s School of Law.

Other organizational meeting news:
The Board also approved appointments to various committees:
  • Board Committees: 
    • Audit and Finance Committee - Dr. Rebecca Boyle and Mr. Jeff Leikin
    • Policy Committee – Mrs. Deborah Kamat and Mr. Jeff Leikin

  •  Superintendent Liaisons:
    • Academic Committee - Mrs. Deborah Kamat and Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish
    • Buildings and Grounds Committee - Dr. Rebecca Boyle and Mrs. Melanie Weltman
    • Communications Committee -  Mrs. Beth Wilson-Fish and Mrs. Melanie Weltman

Approval was given to the regular meeting schedule for the 2021calendar year. The meeting schedule is posted on the District website calendar and in the right column of the Board of Education webpage.

 All 2021 Regular Board of Education meetings will begin at 6 p.m.

Appointments to the Ohio School Boards Association (OSBA) were also approved. Mrs. Wilson-Fish will serve as a delegate at the OSBA annual conference with Dr. Boyle as an alternate. Mrs. Kamat will serve as a legislative liaison to OSBA while Mrs. Weltman will serve as the student achievement liaison.

Board Liaisons were chosen for various school-related organizations and groups:
Curriculum Advisory Council - Mrs. Kamat and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
Orange Community Education and Recreation – Dr. Boyle and Mrs. Wilson-Fish 
Orange Schools Foundation – Mrs. Kamat and Mr. Leikin
Orange Boosters – Mrs. Wilson-Fish and Mrs. Weltman
Orange Patronaires - Mrs. Weltman and Mr. Leikin
Orange Elementary/Middle School PTA -  Mrs. Weltman and Mrs. Wilson-Fish
OHS PTA - Dr. Boyle and Mr. Leikin
Orange Alumni Association - Mrs. Kamat and Mr. Leikin
Orange School Board Appointment for the Orange Village Tax Incentive Review Council: Mrs. Weltman

The Board of Education also re-adopted existing bylaws and policies.